No Fair!

Our culture seems to be obsessed with equality. Notice the picture of my son Judah. He spent so long trying to evenly pour the last bit of Mt. Dew that he forgot which glass was his and which was his brother’s.

IMG_2916Fairness evaluations are bizarre. They are all about comparison and self-pity and low self esteem. As a mom I am convinced that it is good to parent each child individually according to their own needs.

Life is not fair. Period.

Each person is unique. We each have a specific personality with a gift mix all our own.  We each have unique needs with different love languages we use to give and receive love.

God is the best Father and He is really good at giving each of us exactly what we need at just the right time. We can rest in Him.

I’m so thankful that life isn’t fair, because if it were I would have to have all the same skill sets as everyone else on the planet.  Can you imagine if you had to go to college to get every single type of degree available to be had.

I have been to a country where the end goal was to have everything be completely equal. The thought is that no one should rise above the rest, but everyone should contribute equally. It simply doesn’t work out well. Everyone ends up poor and losing when we make equality our highest goal.

We have a really good Father who really loves us, and that makes it completely normal for us to be filled with peace and contentment instead of striving and comparison.

John 14:1-3 says,

“Let not your heart be troubled: ye believe in God, believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also.”

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

